The Fortune

I have wanted one most of my life. I have enjoyed BMW’s, Corvettes, Hummers, Classic Trucks and cars, power boats, you name it. But for some dumb reason I have always wanted a Delorean and a Porsche 928. I knew it was something I likely couldn’t do unless the right car for the right deal came by…….I seem to be blessed and curse with this ability.

I searched high and low for a Delorean that I could get into….not physically; although most who have head the pleasure of meeting me in person knows that like my corvettes this is a car I’ll “put on” and not get in. I found one less than 5 miles from me that had been sitting for 12-13 years. The owner and I struck up a relationship, and I kept it on the “down low” keeping other like minded buyers away from it. After months of talking and even negotiations, I thought I would go ahead and buy it.

I agonized for weeks on whether to drop the coin on this car. Could I afford the repairs and restoration? How bad would it be? I am not a mechanic, nor am I ignorant however I was indecisive. Then one night at dinner at a horrible shitty chinese buffet, I told my wife, with sadness in my heart and eyes, that I was going to pass on the Delorean. Wait till I had more money and could get a better car. Then I opened a fortune cookie and this fell out:

The Fortune

After opening and reading the Jesus like message, I nearly shit myself!  I changed my mind, and went to the owner’s office the next day and we hammered out a deal to bring it home. What’s the luck? I have always been rather fortunate in life, and have had some challenges here and there and most were because I didn’t act fast enough on something or too soon. There was no doubt this time……it was coming home. For now.

His big concern was getting it off his driveway. He was the original owner but hadn’t touched it in 12 years, and his wife had had enough of it. So with four dryrotted tires, and 1/2 tank of once gasoline now varnish, a sun burnt and ruined interior. We flat bedded it to my garage so it could sit there just a little longer. But not for too long.

Coming Home

Here she is “moving” for the first time in 12 years.

Leave a comment